Product Review: Pure Minerals

611mZXGVy9L._SL1300_

So I watch a lot of other beauty bloggers on Youtube because generally the rule is: “See one, do one, teach one.” ┬áMany of them use a foundation primer before they put on their foundation, but of the people I know in real life I would say I have a handful of friends who actually use primer. I wanted to try it to see if it would make any difference in my makeup. This product is Pure Minerals Prep & Prime. I purchased it after looking through Amazon for different foundation primers. Many other bloggers use ones from Mac or NYX and they seem to get pretty consistent reviews, but I was having difficulty finding things that got really positive reviews for less than $20 and that’s my maximum for any one beauty product. This product got several very good reviews on Amazon and was only $13. My general rule before purchasing is that is has to be four stars or higher out of five and have more than twenty reviews total.

Here’s my view on the stuff after having used it for a week. It says use 1-3 pumps, I used two but found it to be too much and so I switched to one. It promises to extended the wear of the foundation, cover pores and blur wrinkles, and create silky skin. It feels very smooth and moisturizing to apply which I like. It also is very lightweight so it doesn’t feel like you’re clogging your pores or adding on a whole new layer. It does extend my foundation as promised but I did not notice my makeup being any smoother than when I applied foundation without the primer, thus it did not fulfill its purpose. I am definitely going to shop around for more options.

Final Grade: B-

Update (7/2016): I use this a daily moisturizer whether I am wearing makeup or not. Normally, I dislike a lot of facial moisturizers so currently I would give it a B as a primer, but an A- as a moisturizer.

-Jaz

Leave a Reply

